25142-002-003fBe an observer. Your Systema will get much better.
Be an observer. Your life will get much better.

Several years ago, my wife ran a 15K. The weather was very Florida-like, 90 degree and 90% humidity. I was her “crew” for the event.

After dropping her off at the Starting Line and seeing her on her merry way, I jumped into my car and started making my way to the midway point to give her some supplies. The traffic, as excepted,  was rather thick and we moved at a solid 4 mph.

Be an observer. Your Systema will get much better.
Be an observer. Your life will get much better.

It was the first time I got to see the very last person in a race of that size (there were some 10K people). I did not know her of course. She had a major weight problem and was dressed in a fashion that reminded me of the first Rocky movie — gray sweatpants, circa., 1977 and a gray t-shirt which was rapidly changing color due to the excessive perspiration.

I watched as she struggled to move forward and felt a sense of compassion and admiration. Had I not made a commitment to Lisa, I would have asked to be her crew. I wanted her to succeed. Given her clenched fists and determined look, she wanted to succeed.

It did not appear as if she had any support (like family) and given the fact that she was last and the gap to the next person was already widening (they were not even at Mile 1 yet), it would be a tough road ahead. I wonder why she chose this. More so, I admired her guts for taking on an event that is a challenge to anyone.

Inspiration comes in many forms and at the most unexpected of times.

To this day, I am still reminded of her image. There are times when it feels like I cannot do this or that, so I think of that nameless person in gray. Then keep moving forward.

Systema is a difficult art, filled with countless mistakes made along the never-ending path. It evokes fear. It is physical and tiresome. It is a grind. How do you handle this?

Find someone in gray to remind you to just show up as you are. You do not have to look or feel great. You do not have to be prepared for every situation and excel at every encounter. You can be afraid or frustrated or confused. You need not worry that you do not have the answers. None of us have this type of skill or insight. So we keep training.

Show up, imperfections and all. Just show up despite the little, irritating voice that wants you to quit. Just keep moving forward even when the“fake logical” voice whispers how “this is really not for me.” Fear, the mighty Conqueror is a fraud and once exposed to courage, will invariably run.

 

Fear, the mighty Conqueror is a fraud and once exposed to courage, will invariably run.

Expose it to your courage.

This is your life. This is your journey. Why else are you here if not to experience life?!

You are enough.

You may finish last. Your gray sweats from 1977 may be soaked, but you will finish and be a better person because of it.

Take a look around and be an observer. See the nobody who is really the Somebody and let them be your inspiration. Let them remind you to just keep showing up and moving forward.