Thanksgiving 2014

thThis year, martial arts-wise was incredible. Literally, it was the best ever (so far). I have so much to be thankful for.

At the very top of the list is everyone who has been a part of Central Florida Systema schools. We have a wonderful group of men and women who are dedicated to learning, trustworthy, loyal and respectful. It is truly an honor to be a part of this. You are the school and together, we have made a big impact on the Orlando community and will certainly continue to do so.

Secondly, I am very grateful to my teachers, in particular David and Rick Merrell, and of course, Vladimir Vasiliev. My monthly W. Palm trips continue to get more in depth and complex, and I am thankful to David and Rick for sharing such details and insights with me. Of course, without Vlad bringing Systema to the masses, none of this would be possible.

I am also very grateful to my 2 friends and martial arts masters, Guru Eddie Quinn and Peter Carbone Sensei. Training with Eddie this year was the best training I have ever had in over 3 decades in the martial arts. Yes, THE best. Carbone Sensei’s visits (though you do have come more frequently! ) are truly a joy. Working with his main student John Krieger Sensei, has been great as well.

This list would not be complete without mentioning my wife, Lisa. Her continued support is something I am eternally grateful for. When things are great, I know a smile will be waiting for me when I get home. If there are bumps in the road, I know I can always count on you to help me through. You do not always say what I want, just what I need.

I am very appreciative of Sifu Jeff Sindy. You have helped fill in the missing pieces in my Systema world, with the addition and constant expansion of my inner energy training. This has been truly outstanding. Also it was been a gift to have a second facility to train and teach.

To those all who have been a part of this great journey, I am thankful to each. It is an amazing ride, one that is growing in positive directions daily!

Thanksgiving typically is a day whereby we set aside time to express and experience gratitude for all that we have and for the those who have made things possible. Based on this definition, every day is Thanksgiving.

