CFL Systema Member Profile: Sifu Jeff Sindy

ImageI was born in Fairbanks, Alaska, yes Alaska.   I worked a Disney for 16 years where I met my wife.  Currently, I have the Kung Fu school in Clermont, Fl. 

I began training in kung fu at FSU in Ving Tsun.  I moved down to the Orlando area in 1990, and played around with Shotokan, Aikido and Judo until I found Pai Lum in 1994.  I got my first black belt in 1998 and opened my own martial arts school in 2000 and went full time in 2006. 

In 2003 or so I met a man that trained in Ross a very similar style to Systema.  At the time I thought it looked very interesting, so when I met David (Orman) I envied him to come to our school and teach a class and here we are.  Systema has relit the fire to learn, it has always been there, but dimmed.  It has added enrichment to my life by a breath of fresh air and a new perspective. 

Systema has brought new friendships and taught me to look at things from a new perspective.

David’s Thoughts: Everyone once in a while, an unexpected gift drops in your lap. Such as the case here with Sifu Jeff.

I had been looking to re-start Tai Chi but was unsuccessful at finding a school or times that fit my schedule. A small ad for Chinese Academy of Martial Arts popped up one day, and after viewing the clips on Sifu’s site, it really caught my attention. 

It took about 40 seconds into my first class to realize I hit the lottery, so to speak. I thoroughly enjoyed his energetic, upbeat teaching style and respected his high skill level and experience. It was a fit from the start. Little did I know it would lead to not only have an exceptional Tai Chi instructor but a second Systema school. I am very grateful for all of this.

Sifu Jeff is one of those people you love to hang around. High energy, optimistic and quite talented, he lives the life of a modern day martial artist. As students, we are all very fortunate to be a part of his school. 

Leave a Reply

