CFL Systema Member Profile: Marina Warnecke

vMy name is Marina Warnecke (Nilogova – Rus.). I am from Krasnoyarsk in Siberia, Russia. Krasnoyarsk is a city and the administrative center of Krasnoyarsk Krai, located on the Yenisei River. It is the third largest city in Siberia after Novosibirsk and Omsk. I graduated from Krasnoyarsk State Institute of Economics & Trade (Krasnoyarsk city, Russia) and received MS/BS degree in Management and Nutrition.

I moved to the United States in 2003, got married. I graduated from Northern Virginia Community College and was awarded Associate of Science (AS) of Physical Therapy. I currently work at a skilled nursing facility as a physical therapist assistant. While exploring the world of human anatomy, physiology, kinesiology including physical exercises, I also received the certificate of a personal trainer. So, most of my life has been revolving around health and exercises.

Back to Russia, my experience in martial arts consisted of several months of Wushu, about 3 years of Karate, a few months of Kung-fu, and 4 years of Tae Kwon Do.

For a few years, I had been looking to take a martial arts class, only I was not sure what type I would be really interested in. Searching one day online, I encountered Systema – the Russian Martial Art, the Art from my own country. I got involved with Systema in June, 2013.Once in a while, I explore the world of Systema via videos.

Breathing control and relaxation are the main key components while practicing this art. It helps to control tension, keep the energy level and, therefore, stay motivated and benefit my physical fitness. During everyday work time and especially during workouts at the gym, those too aspects are the foundation for all exercises and techniques.

I am very open and eager to continue to learn, improve and further develop skills of this great Martial Art.

David’s Thoughts: Marina has been such a pleasant surprise. In the beginning, I was not sure if she would continue but over a short period of time, it was very clear that she was a strong, dedicated member of our Circle.

Marina is a very intelligent person, which is one of her strengths. She is quick to analyze every detail of each movement and frequently notes things that I would not have considered.

Overall, Marina is a kind hearted, strong willed person who is well on her way to becoming a great martial artist. She is most certainly a welcome addition and adds so great energy to our group. We are stronger because of her.

Leave a Reply

