Take The First Step

stepI am always amazed at how life works. One simple, seemingly innocuous decision often leads to a mountain of great opportunities.

When I lived in California, I trained in Tai Qi, Qi Gong and Nei Gong and over the years, have returned to them. I blended Hsing I breathing and visualization into the mix as well. However, I would go for bursts – training for several months and the stopping, repeating this pattern for years.

For unknown but inspired reasons, I decided to commit myself to training in the inner arts, specifically Tai Qi and Qi Gong with my art of Systema. I cannot explain it fully, but I knew that now is the time to give 100% to the inner arts. It has the feeling as if I had no choice in the matter. “They” were insistent that I do this. . . who the “they” were/are, I do not know. I just it needed to be done and done now.

So I searched and searched and came up empty. There were no teachers that inspired me. They were on my level, and I wanted someone well above my level. I wanted to be pushed, extended and most of all, inspired.

The searched continued for several months until I decided to put it on the back burner, despite the strong feelings about it. Then it happened.

I saw an ad for “manta.com,” which I had never heard of. It was a “Yelp-like” site and an opportunity to promote my school, Central Florida Systema. Upon completion and submission, a notice came up promoting Academy of Chinese Martial Arts in Clermont, a mere 25 minutes from me. I look at the site and was duly impressed and decided to go.

In short, I was blown away. The instructor, Sifu Jeff Sindy was as talented, respectful and likable a person as I have ever met. He welcomed me warmly, as did all his students. I am thoroughly loving the classes! And it gets better.

Upon hearing of my background and my school, he immediately wanted me to teach at his school.

Bottom line. .  .  Central Florida Systema now has 2 locations!

If I learned anything, it is. . . .

Part 1. Take the first inspired step.

Part 2. Keep walking. It may be a circuitous route to the target(s). So what.

Enjoy the path along the way to the pot of gold. It is just as enjoyable as the gold.

Leave a Reply

